DEV Community

Cover image for I made a library that adds a metallic look to anything you throw at it
MikaeI
MikaeI

Posted on

I made a library that adds a metallic look to anything you throw at it

Shiny!

TL;DR: Shiny metal UIs, baby. Check it out over on Metalmorphism...

I've been obsessing over creating a high-end and unique metallic look that I feel has been sorely missing from the web. I've put quite a bit of effort into ensuring the implementation is lightweight, performant and cross-browser compatible.

Maybe Metalmorphism can bring a touch of metallic elegance to the web in 2023?

The library I've written lets you turn any HTML element into a metallic looking thing by giving it a certain classname. It generates the SVG code (filters and all) on the fly and renders the raster image to a canvas element that is placed inside the element. The library will respect the dimensions, as well as the background and border-radius properties of the element, using them all as parameters for the effect (even after the first render, if anything changes, dynamically).

I love metallic stuff. I think the aesthetic is timeless and compelling. Seeing something metallic in the world always gives me pause. I remember as a child being fascinated with metallic toys and such, even the cheap plastic stuff with a faux metal coat. When I got into web development, the skeuomorphic design trend was on the rise, and I remember it fondly. I feel like I am on a personal crusade to bring back some of the charm of this bygone era.

Top comments (0)