DEV Community

miku86
miku86

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at miku86.com

When to write a blog post

Swyx published an interesting post about his Three Strikes Rule.

I'm struggling with this a lot.

My flow of thoughts is mostly like this:

  • "Oh cool, I should write about this!"
  • "Hmm, it should meet my minimum requirements, e.g. backed by science."
  • "Grr, it's complex. I should do more research."
  • "Wow, this should become a whole series. Or a web page."
  • 3 weeks later: "I had a lot of other stuff to do, maybe I should trash it."

So it boils down to high requirements, high complexity and procrastination.

Dr. Pychyl emphasizes the importance of concrete and tiny.

That's why I will change my approach and streamline it:

  1. When I read something interesting or create a new idea, I will add it to my notes app (just in the title).
  2. When I talk about it again (e.g. with a friend), I will add the details into the note of step 1.
  3. When I talk about it the next time, I will add [Publish] in front of the note.

We will see how this goes!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
miku86 profile image
miku86

Hey Greg,

thanks for your input!
I'm currently fiddling around with it, so I will see, how this goes.