DEV Community

Cover image for I MADE A GAME IN 30 MINUTES 🏀
Mince
Mince

Posted on • Updated on

I MADE A GAME IN 30 MINUTES 🏀

Hi guys, how are you. Recently I saw that @dino2328 has been supporting me a lot. I taught why not have a challenge with him. So, here I am ! He suggested that we have a 30 minute challenge of who makes the best game. He told me he was familiar with scratch. So, yeah this is the reason I am practicing scratch since the past week. The challenge officially began when we created a project. This is the judging criteria:

  • One view = 1 point
  • One heart = 2 point
  • One star = 2 point
  • One remix = 3 point
  • One Comment = 5 point

This article is completely about how I made a game in 30 minutes.

IDEA 💡

Great inventions come out of great ideas. Guys, I thought of making a shooter game at first. But oh yeah ! I already made a shooting game. After some time, I remember that cookie clicker tutorial I watched. Maybe a clicker game. I remember the game's code slightly. But what is the main item that is going to be clicked. Not a cookie for sure, that would be plagiarism. Well, what's my favourite thing in the entire world ? Pizza ?
Yeah it's a pizza. Ah ha ! It took me 5 minutes to figure this out

The pizza

Great men always start the designing first. So did I ! I made a pizza that looked nothing like a pizza. Then I made another one. That looked more like a wheel. Why is this happening to me 😢. Finally after wasting 10 more minutes I got a pizza looking like a pizza. Then I gave a really cool effect that I saw in the video. I remembered it wrong, I tested a bunch more blocks and numbers.... That was what I wanted.

Score and Coin

Then I made a score variable which changes by one whenever you click the pizza, Nice ! In the same "WHEN THIS SPRITE IS CLICKED" block I put "Create clone of COIN" block. Well previously immediately after the art work of pizza I made a simple plus one coin. After all this I wrote script when made the clone of the coin to got to a random place and fade out. Awesome ! How much time do I have....

2 MINUTES !!!!!!!!!!

I hade to hurry up. Make a background, Oh why is it on the top 💢 !! Send it to the back. Phew... Next up, I need high score. Make a variable !!!

😭😭😭😭 Oh not that I need I cloud variable, delete that

And then Timer went off

Guys that was close, well atleast I made a game with a score please check it out and support me. So that I win. You know what, the loser should write a post praising the winner and supporting him as a punishment. Guys and if you want to participate with me like this. Comment me

Oh... wait check out my game : PIZZA CLICKER !
@dino2328 Project : Finding giga

Top comments (0)