DEV Community

Cover image for A note about OpenSSL error on Rails.
Elizabeth Villalejos
Elizabeth Villalejos

Posted on

A note about OpenSSL error on Rails.

Last week, everything was fine and dandy. It was a brand new day with lots of code to look forward to when I decided it was time to upgrade my rails version and build an API idea I had been toying with.

It all went down A-OK until it was time to actually create the project and I got the following error:

Library not loaded: /usr/local/opt/openssl/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib (LoadError)

My Chi Dulce, being completely unamused

Our reaction to the error was less than amused

After browsing and diving in the interwebs for answers, I boiled it down to two probable issues:

  1. You need to upgrade your OpenSSL.
    This one is pretty straightforward, type the following into console:
    brew install --upgrade openssl

  2. It's not you, it's me: PostgreSQL edition.
    At some point, your configs got a bit tangled up and the PostgreSQL gem is right there in the middle of it all. To make it all better you'll need to reinstall the gem, simply type brew reinstall postgresql
    and you're good to go.

Chi working zone

Dulce, ready to keep working on her code reviews

I hope you found this helpful, happy coding!

Got something to add? Please feel free to reach out for any question, comment, meme or dog photos swap.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
_akshaym profile image
Akshay Mahajan

Wasted a few hours on this last week before realizing that I just needed to reinstall Postgres! πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
misselliev profile image
Elizabeth Villalejos

Same! Such a quick fix for the amount of hours involved πŸ˜‚