DEV Community

Michael Lueckl
Michael Lueckl

Posted on

Suggestion to improve dev.to user feed

Hi all,

this is my first post and so far I was just playing silent reader, giving out hearts for great posts and saving the good stuff for late nights πŸ˜„
This portal is so great and I'm really happy to have found it!

Something that I noticed and that somewhat bothers me a bit is the User Feed, initially, I thought it's based on my tags but this is not the case.

Don't get me wrong, I love to explore new things but I think it would make more sense to have the Feed only show posts based on my followed tags so that I get all relevant posts based on my interests without distraction of other big topics, I'm looking at you "Web development".
Don't freak out web dev lovers πŸ˜› but in my case, most of the time I'm not too interested in most web dev topics.
Because this is obviously very popular, my feed is always flooded with those posts.

What I have in mind would be, rename "Feed" >> "TOP"/"Top Posts" and have a new "Feed" based on the users followed tags.

It would even make sense to have cross-references of top posts based on tags, the user currently would not see in his feed.
It could show up like a "promoted" post in the user feed, something like "This could be interesting for you based on 'tag', 'tag'"

Not sure if this was ever considered or discussed, wasn't in the first search results, but I thought I bring it up as I feel this would be something not only I would appreciate.
Let me know if I didn't yet had have enough coffee and simply oversaw the option to set this up my self 😜

Thanks again for this great portal and of course for all the great people creating awesome posts!

Cheers,
Michael

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hey thanks for the feedback, sorry we didn't reply sooner.

Collapse
 
mlueckl profile image
Michael Lueckl

Hey Ben,
no problem, glad you saw it! :)
Cheers