DEV Community

Maryam
Maryam

Posted on

From Issue to Experience: My Journey Contributing to Curio

There's an unwritten code among developers – when you spot an issue, you pitch in to resolve it. This story began similarly when my friend, @sdthaker, raised an issue on the Curio project.

Discovering Curio

I had heard of Curio in passing conversations but hadn't dived deep into it. As any curious developer would, I took a cursory look at the open issues to see if there was anything I could assist with.

This brings me to the day @sdthaker created an issue.

The Unexpected Issue

Turns out, Curio had a slight hiccup. The logo on their interface, as familiar and inviting as it looked, did nothing when clicked. Most of us, knowingly or not, have the habit of clicking on the website's logo expecting it to take us back to the home page. In the realm of user experience, such a non-responsive element can be mildly frustrating.

When @sdthaker raised this issue, he suggested I give it a shot. The challenge, though simple, was a chance for me to contribute to an open-source project I liked. I saw it as a perfect opportunity to sharpen my skills while simultaneously bettering the project.

The Fix

Without much ado, I forked the repo and set up the development environment. My solution was straightforward: wrap the Curio logo in HeaderCurio with React Router's Link component to make it responsive. This ensures that any time a user clicks on the logo, they're directed back to the home page.

Upon completing the changes and testing them thoroughly, I made a pull request (#67) detailing the modifications.

The Takeaway

This experience, as simple as it might sound, was incredibly fulfilling. Not only did I get the chance to contribute to an open-source project I believe in, but I also enjoyed the camaraderie that came from working alongside fellow developers, even if virtually.

To anyone hesitant about diving into the open-source community, remember that every contribution, no matter how small, makes a difference. In my case, the nudge from @sdthaker made all the difference.

Cheers to coding, collaboration, and the continuous journey of learning!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sdthaker profile image
Soham Thaker

Good stuff @mnajibi! Glad you took on this challenge! 🥳