DEV Community

Maxim Nosov ✪
Maxim Nosov ✪

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - PR#2

My second PR

For my 2nd PR for Hacktoberfest I've been working on project QuickWiki, which I find quite useful. It displays a short summary for any Wikipedia article in seconds.

Issue

The issue I've been working on asked me to center the search input and other content at the middle of the screen, so that the user would get better UX.

Solution

The way I solved this issue by adding div around the elements that will be placed in the center. After that, I applied certain styles to this div.

Styles that I applied to the element :

.center-container {
    position: absolute;
    top:50%;
    left:50%;
    transform: translate(-50%, -50%);
    width: 100%;
 }
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Overview

My PR wasn't much of code, but it was a useful improvement for the project. I'm really glad I made it look prettier.

I really enjoy working on open source projects, all of them are so different and most of them have some value to present.

Keep up !

Have a great Hacktoberfest, there is more to come :)

Top comments (0)