DEV Community

Cover image for Let's Discuss About Assessing Yourself as a Developer
Mohammed Asker
Mohammed Asker

Posted on

Let's Discuss About Assessing Yourself as a Developer

I've read countless articles, blogs, and tweets about how one should never compare themselves to others since everyone's experiences and aptitudes are unique and we don't know how much they struggle before reaching their goals. And it's bad for your health, mentally speaking.

While this advice sounds good and all, then how do YOU measure your own level of competency as a developer?

Do you ask someone who's more experienced than you to assess you, or do you have own methods to assess your programming skills?

I'd love to hear your opinion.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard • Edited

Focus on the users and everything will follow.

If you are solving a real world problem and your users are mostly happy about it, you are a good programmer.

They will probably not be 100% happy at first. As long as you care about them, it's fine and even good. You will want to solve theirs problems, and by doing that, you will learn exactly what you need to learn now to become a better developer.

If you are writing a Todo app stored in the blockchain and written with the latest trendy stack, then no matter your technical skills, you have to rethink why you are doing this.

Collapse
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

I'm wondering why blockchain is necessary for To-do list app? Trust issues?

In all serious though, I think this is what I need to hear. Lately, I'm having a trouble of knowing what I should do next to advance my knowledge in coding. I only think "I must add this feature" and "that feature" without giving a much thought on why I need to include them in the first place.

As what you have said, maybe I should pay more attention to end-users.

By the way, how can I get the users to try my apps other than my family and friends?

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Blockchain is needed to get VCs to finance you :)

By the way, how can I get the users to try my apps other than my family and friends?

Google "customer discovery" or "customer development"

Thread Thread
 
mohammedasker profile image
Mohammed Asker

Lol! VCs these days...

Got it! I guess I know what I have to do next, thanks for taking your time to help me out, Jean! (P.S: You are the first person to comment on my post!)