DEV Community

Monica Granbois
Monica Granbois

Posted on • Originally published at monicagranbois.com

Generating A New Apple Distribution Certificate

This post is a note to my future self about generating Apple Distribution Certificates. I received an email stating:

Your Distribution Certificate will no longer be valid in 30 days. To generate a new certificate, sign in and visit Certificates, Identifiers & Profiles.

After signing in, the Certificates, Identifiers & Profiles page will list two certificates:

  1. Apple Distribution certificate
    • Used to distribute apps to TestFlight and the App Store.
    • An expired certificate does not affect my apps on the App Store. However, I cannot update my apps or upload new apps with the expired certificate.
  2. Apple Development certificate
    • Used to run apps on devices and use app services.
    • It will have my computer's name appended to the certificate name.

To generate a new certificate I followed the steps from this StackOverflow answer:

  • Open Xcode
  • Open Xcode Preferences (Xcode->Preferences or Cmd-,)
  • Click on Accounts
  • At the left, click on your developer ID
  • At the bottom right, click on Manage Certificates...
  • In the lower left corner, click the arrow to the right of the + (plus)
  • Select Apple Distribution from the menu

I also revoked the old certificate on the Certificates, Identifiers & Profiles page. I did this by clicking on the distribution certificate and then clicking the revoke button.

XCode manages my provisioning profile, so I did not need to manually update it.

References:

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
shangguanw5135 profile image
上官王牌

I would like to know about Apple certificate distribution. Can you leave your contact information