DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Ahmad Awais ⚡️
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Posted on

Go To Previous Git Branch Or Previous Directory via Terminal #OneDevMinute

Yet Another #OneDevMinute where you'll learn about how easy it is to access the previous git branch, and then again do the same with normal directories in your terminal.

Seriously, if you are working in two different directories or in two different git branches, then moving back and forth again and again can be pretty cumbersome. This tip sets you up with cd - or git checkout -. Watch the video to learn more.

git checkout other-branch
git checkout yet-another-branch
git checkout - # Takes you back in the other-branch
git checkout - # Takes you back in the yet-other-branch

cd dir1
cd dir2
cd - # Takes you back in the dir1
cd - # Takes you back in the dir2
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

P.S. If you like my work, feel free to share it, like it. I am quite active on twitter you can find me cracking silly jokes there, maybe follow me on Twitter to connect and subscribe to my YouTube channel →
Peace! ✌️

🗣️ Comment below if you didn't get something.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I never knew you could do that with git checkout -. That's a great tip.

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️ • Edited

Glad you liked it. It's a silly small thing but it's super useful. 😇

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

I'm loving these, thanks @mrahmadawais !

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

That's very kind of you to say, Peter! 🙌

Collapse
 
thomasjunkos profile image
Thomas Junkツ

I love this small videobits you do. Not everytime I learn something new - although this time I really did ;) - but they are on the point and nice to watch! Keep on going!

Collapse
 
ahmadawais profile image
Ahmad Awais ⚡️

Glad to hear that. Your appreciation will fuel my motivation for future episodes. 👍