DEV Community

Muhammad
Muhammad

Posted on

Do Mechanical keyboards help if yes then which one is your favorite

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
pbouillon profile image
Pierre Bouillon • Edited

I think it depends on what you're the most comfortable with. I personally prefer mechanical keyboards because of the switches, the pressure needed on one key reduce misstyping; on other keyboards (mostly flat ones) I use to press several key wanting to press enough only one.

But here again it depends if prefer mechanical or, idk, iOS keyboard, it's up to you!

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

I mean its true for the laptop keyboards.
The keys are too flat especially mac book

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'm currently using a mechanical keyboard because I got fedup with bugs in my MacBook keyboard (the latest gen MacBook Pro keyboard is πŸ’© in terms of reliability)

Juries still out on the mech keyboard for me but I think I'm getting to like it.

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Omg that's so true it's really hard to program on Macbook that why I switched to Dell XPS 13 and keyboard is really great compared to MacBook

Collapse
 
evanoman profile image
Evan Oman • Edited

Not sure if they actually help but after 3 yrs of use I have a hard time typing on anything else.

I've had a few keyboards now (Cherry MX Browns are my favorite switch)

  • CODE Keyboard (One w/ Clear and the other with Brown). I somehow fried one of these twice with the static in my office.
  • Current: Corsair K95 w/ Brown switches.
Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Ill look into those keyboards

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

I like them, but I understand why people prefer laptop keyboards; less travel time, etc.

I have a Logitech Orion Spark G910.

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

I Just bought a mechanical keyboard and it feels great