DEV Community

Muhammad
Muhammad

Posted on

Do Employer's look for Github Profile

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
jfrankcarr profile image
Frank Carr

Maybe.

Potential employers who are in the tech space to some degree are more likely to look at what you have there.

However, non-tech corporate IT department type employers are less likely to look. In fact, they may be concerned that you might be prone to giving away their "intellectual property" on these sites and view your activity there as a negative. This isn't as common as it was a few years ago but is still around.

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Thanks for the tip

Collapse
 
belhassen07 profile image
Belhassen Chelbi

I think my answer is so simple :
They'll do only if they're techs.

Employers may need something with code but doesn't know how to write a simple line of code. That kind of employers will be like "show me something", making a python library won't be relevant for them but making a data visualization (something they see) will be more relevant.

In the other hand, if the employer is a tech guy (a programmer, dev ..), a github profile "only" can show your strength and capability if you have a good one. If not, some other non open source projects must be included in your CV with at least a little explanation.

great question mate !

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Thanks for the Tip :)

Collapse
 
6temes profile image
Daniel

It depends.

Junior developers tend to need to prove themselves and the usually have side projects on Github to show off. So have some code in Github will show that you are a proactive person who likes coding, but there are many other factors that count. In my case, for a junior developer, I value a lot the personality and the passion for programming that they show in the interview.

Senior developers tend to have families and not a lot of time for side projects. So it is not so strange that they don't have side projects on Github.

Collapse
 
rashidi profile image
Rashidi Zin

Speaking from experience. Each time I have a candidate coming in, the first thing I will do is to check their Github and LinkedIn.

I won't make immediate assumption that they are bad if their Github is empty or have long being abandon.

But if it's update to date and well written it will definitely give me a good first impression and I'll be excited to meet them.

Collapse
 
remojansen profile image
Remo H. Jansen • Edited

I've been hiring in 2017 and the main source of information that we used to validate if someone matched what we were looking for was GitHub. We found it more reliable than other metrics like years of experience or education level.

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay

It's a plus, so if you're inclined to be active there you can and should put it on your resume, especially if you run or contribute substantially to any open source projects. But it's never going to make or break your chances.

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

So GitHub can Help you get hired
if you upload your projects their

Collapse
 
hayton profile image
hayton

I don't quite understand why I have to be passionate about coding to get the job. I give quality code. I learn new languages. I search for and apply best practice. Basically I get the job done and did it pretty good. Is it what employers need? Does it matter whether I love coding or not? I have lives after work and I think most employees does. Please don't expect us to code at work and after work.

Collapse
 
ethanarrowood profile image
Ethan Arrowood

Not only do they look at it, but it may actually earn you the job: medium.freecodecamp.org/how-contri...

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Thanks for sharing this

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad

Thanks for the Great advice