DEV Community

Mariana Castilho
Mariana Castilho

Posted on

Do you take notes when studying a language/framework?

I guess the title is self-explanatory, but I was wondering if taking notes while studying is a common habit for my programmer fellas.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
bradtaniguchi profile image
Brad

I never take notes when "studying". I also usually don't watch videos or talks, as I find it hard to focus. I also never try to memorize anything.

I'd much rather find an article, read/skim it, and play around with it on my side. By working with something, or running into an issue multiple times, I end up remember it much better than if I were to write it down.

I used to take notes in school, but found I never read them. I also found I got a better understanding by just doing it.

I do keep a few lists of things I'd like to read or look into, but I never consider it a requirement to "learning" something. I don't think I "know" something until I've used it a few times.

Collapse
 
cyril_ogoh profile image
ogoh cyril

Yeah I do

Especially when I would be working with the firmwork later on
But it kinda not important thought ๐Ÿ’”
Cause you might just miss something or lose concentration while trying to write something down

But most times I actually don't go back to my notes ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…
Cause I could Google for solutions๐Ÿ˜‰

But it all depends on how you read, process and find solutions

Collapse
 
ssndude2 profile image
ssndude2

I suck at note keeping so bad that my notes confuse me. I do use a highlighter and maybe two or three even of the same color, ROFL I highlighted a bible so much once that I increased its weight by nearly double and I lost track of what was important. I do the same thing when I save enough money to buy a computer book that i really don't need. I generally need three pages anyway.

Collapse
 
cyril_ogoh profile image
ogoh cyril

I know right ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜ฉ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

I can relate too

Collapse
 
khuongduy354 profile image
khuongduy354

For programming language, i have cheatsheet of stuffs. I write enough just to trigger the feel of that language, cuz im language agnostic. For framework, just read docs write code, if you need review, read your old code in that framework. Also if you want, note concepts that are language independent, never note syntax.

Collapse
 
mikesamuel profile image
Mike Samuel

When I'm doing appsec work I do. I keep track of which APIs' docs claim to preserve security properties that are hard to, which don't make claims but which users might assume do, which seem poorly tested, which encourage stringly typed code. Those are the parts I'll come back to to see if I can't find small flaws that I can chain together into a full breach.