DEV Community

Paul C. Ishaili
Paul C. Ishaili

Posted on

Transitioning from NoSQL to also implementing SQL

Transitioning from NoSQL to also implementing SQL has been a great leap in my career as a developer.

Here are a few important tips that I have learned and are helping me in implementing SQL properly in projects.

  1. The MySQL workbench

The MySQL Workbench is an alternative to the MySQL command line. It enables the creation of schemas and tables using the GUI and also generates query codes that can be run on the command line. It is a great tool when working with structured data.

  1. Communicating from NodeJS to MYSQL Database

I experienced difficulties here due to the fatal authentication error I received after installing the MySQL node package. The solution that I had for this was to rather install mysql2 in place of the MySQL, import as MySQL, and use it in my server.js.

Thanks to this resource on stackoverflow for helping with this solution.

I'm Paul Ishaili C., and I share interesting thoughts and processes for solving problems and truly understanding programming.

developer #programming #nodejs #mysql #database #sql #projects #career #nosql

Join my Telegram Channel 👉 https://t.me/devpacademy for more.

Top comments (0)