DEV Community

Martin Riedel
Martin Riedel

Posted on

My podcast-subscriptions

an old microphone

The following post is an overview of podcasts I follow. I'm using Pocket Casts to subscribe and listen. This list is still a work in progress after several years. Also: There is no sort of ranking implied here.

technology

infosec

politics and general news

agile

misc

I'd love to hear about the podcasts you enjoy or that you recommend. Feel free to drop me a comment!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

I still prefer reading.

Podcasts have the following shortcomings for me:

  1. You cannot bookmark a certain part of the text. Transcripts are optional.
  2. Many podcasters have a very boring way to talk, that makes following the contents notably harder. (Also: Jingles! Ugh!)
  3. You cannot directly jump to certain topics (unless the podcasters provide an entirely optional ToC), you'll have to listen to it all.
Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Those shortcomings are what I suffer from as well.

Especially when a podcast gives you many points without ToC, it's hard to see where they are at.

And also the trouble could be caused due to most of people being visual learners.

One person I know is an auditory learner so he seems to understand better while listening.

Collapse
 
mrtnrdl profile image
Martin Riedel
  1. That is true, although i've always found the transcript/shownotes were pretty good of the podcasts i listen to

  2. Understandable - I can't listen to several podcasts people have recommended to me because of either the voices or the jingles. Or sometimes the bad audio quality. I listen on 1.4x speed and that sometimes amplifies bad recordings.

  3. Understandable, but most of the time I listen from start to finish.

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Thanks Martin for following up with the comment.

Sure, I'll do the latter ;)

I was able to glean into what type of interests you have πŸ˜‰

I will also post my list this week on dev.to

Collapse
 
mrtnrdl profile image
Martin Riedel

You're welcome - I'm looking forward for your list!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim