DEV Community

Moe
Moe

Posted on • Updated on

developers without coding

Hello,
my first job was IT operations then I got promoted to the development department because of my experience in the spring framework .but I was introduced to dead, old tools.
it was IBM WebSphere portal/server and it comes with IDE that has nothing close or related to programming. it was all about drag and drop items called builder, and each item has set of configuration. despite the lack of resources, I managed to learn it very well, and helped the team to reduce repetitive tasks.but, after one year I feel I'm wasting my time, and lost. because I did not gain new worthy experience, and I didn't improve my programming skills.
So, what would you do if you were in the situation? and is it common thing that corporations use such cursed products?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
mamhaidly profile image
mamhaidly

I am not sure about the technologies you mentioned. I never used them, but one way to find out how relevant your skills/knowledge are, is to check job posts around you and internationally. If a company is looking for full time hire with specific skills, it means those skills are needed and hopefully when the skills become obsolete (if they do) the company has a plan for its personal (other than getting rid of them). Through job posts, you will also get a feel of how many companies are looking for people with your skills, & those companies profiles. For example, some tools may relevant to big corporate but not startups or maybe companies in a specific field/industry.

Collapse
 
hte305 profile image
Ha Tuan Em

I thinks so !

Collapse
 
jeremyfox36 profile image
Jem Fox

I think you should look at the skills you've gained in a different way. Programming is all about helping people solve a problem - nothing else. Writing code is the same as sawing wood, hammering nails and eventually building a house - you use the tools at your disposal to create something that solves a problem, which you've done (you're now a problem solver - the most valuable skill). You can learn to write code anytime you want - it doesn't have to be at work and you don't have to do it in 3 months.

What I would do in your position is either:

a) look for a job that needs the skills you've got but also offers the opportunity to learn the skills you want. You might be looking at 80% using current skills and 20% learning new skills. Even if you have to take a pay cut in the short term. (I did this)

b) dig in and become the absolute world master of all things IBM WebSphere - go to all the webinars, read all the docs, do things with WebSphere that none else has thought to do. Then look for the jobs that need a WebSphere expert. This might take longer than a) but you'll probably earn more money.