DEV Community

muncey
muncey

Posted on • Updated on

Deploying my budget tool to Heroku

I thought I would just make a really quick post about deploying my budget tool to Heroku as a static web application.

Heroku is a hosting platform owned by Salesforce that provides a free hosting tier.

So I have created a free account on Heroku and I have then selected the New app option.

image

Next I create a pipeline called “deploy-production” and set the Deployment method to GitHub.

image

I then connect to GitHub and select the muncey/MyBudgetFrontEnd project.

image
I setup Automatic deploys and kick of a manual deploy

image
Because I have not set up a buildpack yet, when I attempt to deploy to Heroku I received a no buildpack error.

image
So to fix this I went to settings and added a php buildpack

image
I also changed index.html to be index.php without making too many other changes.

image
I was then able to deploy a branch to Heroku

image
And I can access my app at url: https://my-easy-budget.herokuapp.com/index.php

image
So that is about it, I can now deploy my app up to heroku where anyone can access it. In my next article I am going to show a technique for saving and persisting the data for a user.

Top comments (0)