DEV Community

Cover image for The Journey So Far
Almustapha Muhammad Sunusi
Almustapha Muhammad Sunusi

Posted on

The Journey So Far

Hey welcome to my Dev to page, This is my first post on here and I'll be talking About my journey so far as a junior frontend developer

I first came in contact with Programming on a WhatsApp group chat in 2016, a guy named Danny was our tutor. He introduced frontend development to us and gave us some PDFs (HTML CSS and JavaScript).
I decided to go ahead and learn on my own before it's time for lectures, I started with Css and guess what? I was totally lost, the selectors then looks like alien language to me.
I then went back to HTML and I was understanding it gradually I start with the syntax before I moved to header tags, paragraph tags tables, list etc.
I remember coding on my Nokia E70 then. I was using wapka.mobi to test my HTML code.

Up until early 2017 I was still coding well until I got admitted into university to study computer science. I got busy and couldn't practice much.
The year 2020 is my turning point in my coding years. Due to the lockdown I was able to practice allot and I became consistent, I code almost every day and with that I made the progress that I couldn't in more than 2 years. I was able to perfect my HTML skill learn allot of CSS (like FlexBox and grid for layout, and also responsive design), vanilla js, Es6 and currently learning Bootstrap for my next project ( I have done allot of projects during this lockdown period)
My greatest mistake was not coding continuously through out the years and I'll encourage people who are new to coding never to give up, code more, have patience and watch your self Excel.
I wouldn't want to extend this conversation cause it may become boring but I'll be posting more on the problems I've been facing and how I've been able to overcome all of them. So see you soon and thank you

Top comments (0)