DEV Community

Cover image for How I became A Technical Writer
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam

Posted on • Originally published at muthuannamalai.tech

How I became A Technical Writer

Throughout my life, I have been beneficially affected by many incidents, and technical blogging is definitely one of them.

Throughout this article, I will paint a picture of me and my background in technical writing - where it came from, what it is headed towards, and what I see in the future.

Let's proceed to the article without further ado

How my blogging journey began

Start.png

I would like to start at the beginning. Whenever any journey begins, there is a reason for it. In the first place, I would like to shed some light on why I started blogging. Why did I do that? To gain fame or to create a personal brand? Was it to earn some side income?

Neither was the answer. My motivation for starting a blog was rather simple. As someone who wanted to record my learning as well as access it from anywhere, I needed software that could not be tied to a specific device or location. Therefore, not on my work or home computers.

Due to this, I thought only of myself as my audience. For myself, I started blogging so that I could access the content from anywhere in the world. My blog lived at my domain name muthuannamalai.tech

This lead me nicely to the next question: when did I start blogging? I remember the exact date it was about 3 months ago. 29 May 2021, to be precise.

What did I blog about, especially on that day, I hear you ask. At that time, I was learning about git as it is an essential skill for a developer. So I thought of writing what I learned and ended up writing about "Top 10 Git Commands Every Developer Should Know"

My Motivation

AdobeStock_100113984-1024x579.jpeg

Because I love it.

My first reason for staying motivated is that I am passionate about blogging and I adore my writing. My thoughts on giving up blogging have never occurred to me and I don't foresee myself giving up anytime soon. A good question to ask yourself would be "Do I enjoy running my blog?".Unless you know the answer, then I can see how you might lose motivation to keep going.

Brainstorm Ideas

Every time I feel motivated to write a blog post, I brainstorm all possible topics related to my life and my blog that I could possibly write about. If I am stuck for ideas, I will look at my favorite blogs or magazines for inspiration, which can be tied to my blog's theme.

Set Achievable Goals

Whatever my blog's success, there's always room for improvement. I Try to achieve achievable goals that you can measure - for example, I don't just try to 'get more Twitter followers, instead, I try to grow my Twitter audience by 500 followers in the next month. In this way, I will always be working towards something.

Create a schedule to prevent yourself from burning out

The easiest and most effective way to burn out myself is to work non-stop on my blog for extended periods of time. This is something I don't want to do.

As an alternative, I have created a blogging schedule so that I can stay balanced between all my activities. Motivating myself by knowing what I have to do and when I have to do it is crucial to my success.

My goals

Goals.jpg

Increase My Traffic 6% Monthly

If you increase your blog traffic by 6% for 12 months, you will reach 100% by the end of the year (1.06^12 > 2). In light of that, 6% doesn't seem that big of a deal over the course of a month. This goal better goal to set because it is measurable over a shorter period of time.

Write At Least 1 Blog Post A Week

By routinely posting articles, readers also learn to expect a new post on a regular basis. In order to further the reader's interests, I write more frequently and with higher quality. Practicing consistently helps me improve my craft and become a better writer.

Increase My Email Opt-In Rate By 50%

It is not enough to simply write a lot of posts and rank in Google to increase your traffic.

Another option is to grow your email list so you can gain direct traffic in the future. I have started a newsletter recently and I plan to work on it and increase its opt-in rate by 50%

You can subscribe to the newsletter below

My Newsletter

Conclusion

Thank you for reading the article until this point - I hope you found it interesting and learned something. I would appreciate it if you could kindly take the time to add your thoughts to the comments below

You can now extend your support by buying me a Coffee.πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘‡

Buy Me A Coffee

Thanks for Reading 😊

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
juliya_pav profile image
Julia

Thank you for sharing your story

Collapse
 
muthuannamalai12 profile image
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam

My Pleasure πŸ˜€