DEV Community

Nandini S Hinduja
Nandini S Hinduja

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2023

This post is about my first time participating in Hacktoberfest. So I have known about Hacktiberfest since 2019-2020 I think and I never participated in it. This year, out of the blue I thought of participating and I successfully completed it. So I first registered on the Hacktoberfest website and then I watched a YouTube video about how to complete Hacktoberfest. The YouTuber explained the entire process and I contributed to 4 open source projects and raised PRs in all of them. The PRs were merged and the 6-7 day review period began. Until this point I got the following badges:

  • Level 0 badge from Hacktoberfest for registering for Hacktoberfest
  • A badge from ILLA (for participation in Hacktoberfest)
  • A badge from DigitalOcean (for participation in Hacktoberfest)
  • A badge from Appwrite (for participation in Hacktoberfest)

And then all my four pull requests were marked as excluded because I had unknowingly contributed to projects which were not a part of Hacktoberfest 2023. I did not give up and I read the Hacktoberfest site to learn how to choose the projects. This time, I choose the projects which were a part of Hacktoberfest and I raised the 4 PRs. The 6-7 day review period started again and at the end of it, I got the following badges:

  • Level 1 badge from Hacktoberfest (for getting my first PR accepted)
  • Level 2 badge from Hacktoberfest (for getting my second PR accepted)
  • Level 3 badge from Hacktoberfest (for getting my first PR accepted)
  • Level 4 badge from Hacktoberfest (for getting my first PR accepted)

I also got a tree planted in my name in Uganda because I was one of the first 50,000 people to complete Hacktoberfest. I also got a tree planted badge for this. I then got a reward kit from Hacktoberfest which further had many offers, discounts and badges from different companies.

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will surely participate next year also.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Congrats 🔥⚡

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

Thanks!