DEV Community

Nathan Englert
Nathan Englert

Posted on

What type of monitor(s) and setup do you use for software development?

I'm curious to see what everyone is using. Do you roll with one monitor to keep the extra noise down? Do you use two 23" monitors side-by-side? Do you have one of your monitors turned in portrait mode? Does your setup look like something out of Swordfish? Let's discuss!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
evanoman profile image
Evan Oman • Edited

My remote-work monitor setup uses three 24" monitors in an H configuration. I really like the portrait mode monitors for viewing long portions of code and I am able to tile effectively on Windows 10 using AquaSnap

Setup

Collapse
 
nathanenglert profile image
Nathan Englert

This is super interesting to me.. How long have you been using this 'H' setup?

Collapse
 
evanoman profile image
Evan Oman

Been using it for about 9 months. Another benefit is that the screen space of the three monitors isn't spread out nearly as wide, meaning there is less side-to-side head movement.

Collapse
 
nathanenglert profile image
Nathan Englert

I haven't been sitting at my desk a lot lately, so I've been using my laptop screen. However, when I do use it, I have a single 24" monitor that is eye level. I used to have multiple monitors, but I've found that using a single one has helped me focus on the current task at hand. I then make use of gesture swiping to switch between windows / screens / etc.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

This new thread might help, at least on the monitor setup part

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. Thêry

I just have my laptop on the left and an additional 21" monitor on the right. I usually use more the monitor.

Collapse
 
gac profile image
Igor Ilic

At work I have 2 24" lenovo displays and at home I use my laptop in combination with my 27" hp and switch it rarely with the old 22" LG (not able to use both at the same time :( )