DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest - the collaborators side
Axel Navarro
Axel Navarro

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - the collaborators side

This is my first Hacktoberfest and I don't believe what I saw in just 1 week.

I've been a collaborator in tldr-pages project since August 25th, because I like to learn new stuff and share new commands and apps with the community.

GitHub logo tldr-pages / tldr

📚 Collaborative cheatsheets for console commands

tldr-pages

Build status Gitter chat Merged PRs GitHub contributors license

What is tldr-pages?

The tldr-pages project is a collection of community-maintained help pages for command-line tools, that aims to be a simpler, more approachable complement to traditional man pages.

Maybe you are new to the command-line world? Or just a little rusty Or perhaps you can't always remember the arguments to lsof, or tar?

It certainly doesn't help that the first option explained in man tar is:

-b blocksize
   Specify the block size, in 512-byte records, for tape drive I/O
   As a rule, this argument is only needed when reading from or writing to tape drives
   and usually not even then as the default block size of 20 records (10240 bytes) is very common.

There seems to be room for simpler help pages, focused on practical examples. How about:

screenshot of the tldr-node-client displaying the tldr page for the tar command

This repository is just that: an ever-growing collection of examples for the most common UNIX, Linux, macOS, SunOS…

The tldr-pages is a collection of community-driven man pages with 8 examples at most where the users can find quick examples for a given command, either for Windows, Linux and macOS.

Usually, when I find a useful command combination and can be published, I try to add it to the tldr-pages - instead I add an alias in my OS when it is only useful for me.

In non-hacktoberfest time, we have an average of 20 pull requests open and 5 contributions per week.

But the Hacktoberfest has begun, and we received 100 pull requests in a week!

Contributors sending pull requests

No, I don't! I'm not here to complain about this fest, because the 99.9% of the pull requests are useful. New commands, and a lot of translations to share the knowledge with people who don't read English.

I know it is easier to collaborate with tldr-pages than an application because you don't need to know the code to add a man page.

But, we have tldr clients in every language if you want to code:

  • Haskell for Debian and the Ubuntu family.
  • Python for Arch Linux.
  • Nodejs for easy installations with npm.
  • Rust.

I use Arch Linux and I feel the Python client more comfortable than the Haskell client used in Ubuntu.

And we have a linter for the pull requests: https://github.com/tldr-pages/tldr-lint.

I can't sleep if I have new pull requests

Please come and help with examples for obfuscated commands, or keep translations from the English pages up to date, even when this fest is over.
We may take some time to answer, as there is a lot of review work ahead!

Top comments (0)