DEV Community

Andy
Andy

Posted on

Which language should I use?

In the past I had a partner who was really good at perl, that was years ago now. I still have most of the code and the database. However, I have recently started studying Python. Is perl still relevant? I want to continue the project we were working on but, I don't know if I should put the old project back together (perl) or start from scratch with Python (well, when I say scratch, at least I have the database, which is in SQL). Come to think of it, is SQL still relevant or should I use something more updated? The project itself was kind of a directory. It was just browser-based. A niche sort of industry so, how important would it be to use a a mobile app direction?

thanks for any input!

nd01

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
smonff profile image
🌌 Sébastien Feugère ☔

Perl is still relevant in 2023, and under active development. SQL, as well, a must for data storing, processing and reports.

Python and Perl were created almost at the same time (1987 and 1991 respectively). The things you can achieve with them are fairly similar, although both have some domains where they excel (e.g. data analysis with Python's panda module).

A significant difference is that Python is more popular these days. It can be important if you need to find other persons to maintain this project. Perl is still used but possibly more “niche”.

The question is: are you motivated enough to develop your skills in two languages? If you want to focus and specialize on Python, it's maybe not a good idea. But being a polyglot is both useful and makes you a better programmer, also recruiters like that. Also consider that rewriting the project in another language is a non-trivial amount of work, what can be debated, as @sch mentioned in their comment.

This is mostly a matter of interest and personal impression: perhaps having a quick look at the language and see if it grows any curiosity could help? I am biased, as I am a Perl person, but from the description you gave, considering the rewriting aspect, I'd go with the existing codebase. Good luck!

Collapse
 
sch profile image
r

It's definitive relevant, or in other words alive. At FOSDEM 2024 there will be a "Dev Room": fosdem.org/2024/schedule/track/per...

Collapse
 
oliwer profile image
Olivier Duclos

Yes, Perl and SQL are still very much relevant. If you chose to go with Perl, I would recommend using a modern web framework like Dancer or Mojolicious.

Collapse
 
duffee profile image
Boyd Duffee

Great! Now Andy has to choose between Dancer and Mojolicious) ;)

I've used and like both and chose Mojo based on some nice video tutorials at the time. Dancer is just as good, so take a 10 minute look at the documentation/resources for each, make a decision and see how far you get in an hour.

I like Mojo for its development server, morbo and its test framework. If your SQL is Postgres, even better. (Dancer fans should chip in here with their favourite dev modes.)

Collapse
 
sch profile image
r

Why You (Probably) Don't Rewrite The Code: ovid.github.io/articles/a-simple-w...