DEV Community

Cover image for Full Stack open 2022 review
Andrei Neagu
Andrei Neagu

Posted on

Full Stack open 2022 review

Personal thoughts

I want to give FSO the strongest recommendation as it is one of the best tutorials I ever did. I started the tutorial in my final year of university as I had a gap in my practical web skills. A con of a Computer Science degree is that it can be too theoretical.

The core part is the full stack parts (React and Node).
I did not get to finish all the parts, only the core portion. The rest will follow soon.

Every part takes an average of 40 hours to complete. Sometimes I read more about a subject to be satisfied.

Pros

  • The course has assignments. You really learn by solving problems and doing. Video only courses are bad.
  • You work on a front-end and back-end. You learn and apply concepts and refactor your app along the way.
  • Modern React with hooks and Redux toolkit.
  • Express.js with Mongo Atlas and REST. You think about logging and apply various libraries.
  • Unit testing with Jest and E2E testing with Cypress. This is really helpful in bigger projects.
  • It is updated every year.
  • It prepares you for a job.

Who is this for

A person with programming skills that wants to learn about React and web development. FSO is hard and time consuming.

Top comments (0)