DEV Community

Neil An
Neil An

Posted on

Copying a feature from Docusaurus into my SSG

Hi everyone,

This week, I learned all about Docusaurus, a React-based static site generator built by Facebook. For those who never heard of or used Docusaurus before, it is a static site generator which will allow you to create a website based off of whatever text/files (like markdown) you give it. Setting up a Docusaurus project was extremely easy, as they have great documentation to get you started. It took me only a few commands to get started.

I also chose a feature from Docusaurus to add into my own SSG. The previous version of my SSG had some basic Markdown support, so I decided to upgrade my Markdown support by using an existing open source Markdown converter.

This tool was easy to install and use in my current project. To plan the implementation, I first decided to remove everything that I didn't need from my old implementation. The issue here. Next, I created an issue to actually implement Markdown support using Showdown. After planning, I started to write the code, which wasn't too hard since Showdown had nice documentation to help me out. I was able to replace my old implementation with a new one easily. The squashed commit here. Now, users of my SSG will have better Markdown support with more Markdown features. My next steps are to find other open source libraries I can use to convert other types of files.

Top comments (0)