DEV Community

MrMichele
MrMichele

Posted on

Portfolio Review

Hi everyone,

My name is Michele and I follow this community since 2018, I never wrote a post but I think that I will have to start to do it because I am really soaking in programming and I want to start to write about it as well.

The reason of this post as per title is very simple, I would like you guys if you can to review my personal portfolio and tell me from 1 to 10 what do you think about it.

I have a lot of projects on but some of them are quite simple, I am working on make more of them, I found 11 projects that I want to do in the next few months.

Anyway let me know if a portfolio like mine is a ready to apply for a junior position.

https://michele-portfolio.netlify.app/

thank you for your time.

Michele

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
newbiewebdev profile image
MrMichele

Hey Mark thank you for your suggestions, I will have a look at talwind for sure.

The skills are at 0% when you get in the about page because at tje end there is a button to press to show the percentage.

Designing always been my weakness unfortunately.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

Hey michele,

I saw your site it is nice, you can certainly take some ui inspiration from sites like stripe.com, basecamp.com in color combinatiom and box shadow but overall your site is nice built.

I was wondering, do you need all these tags #react, #graphql, #javascript, #gatsby since you dont even mention them once in your post?

Collapse
 
newbiewebdev profile image
MrMichele

Hey Saurabh thx for your review,

Well I didn't really know how to use them so I just put them to show the technology I used for the portfolio.

Next time I will put the tags just if I mention the relative technology in my post then, thanks for the advice.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

No worries.

Collapse
 
andrewchmr profile image
Andriy Chemerynskiy

Hi, there are a few things that can be improved:

  • There are logs in the console when someone is navigated to the About or Blog page. It should not be logged in the console.

  • I would not suggest using a percentage to estimate the strength of your skills. It is very subjective and people don't really know what you mean by '60% React'. For someone, it means pro-level and for someone else, it means noob level.

  • You are using the Gatsby icon logo for your website and I suggest creating your own one or remove it.

I hope it was helpful! Keep up the good work✌️

Collapse
 
newbiewebdev profile image
MrMichele

Hey Andry thanks for the review, yes apparently I left some console.log in the code maybe when I was debugging.

The gatsby logo yes you right I meant to change it but I got busy on doing other projects and I forgot.

For the skills yes the interpretation is personal, but it is a nice feature that I wanted to build, but if I come up with other ideas probably I will change it.

thank you

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
newbiewebdev profile image
MrMichele

Hey webdesign thank you for the review,

I am aware that the e-commerce app it is not responsive like other projects, mainly because the focus on them was more to learn and understand the functionality.

The projects in the portfolio are 16 but few of them are more like features than apps and I chosen to display them to show a possible employer with what tecnologies I worked and what features I am able to do.

I am working on more projects that I found on youtube to learn as much as possible.

I know that as junior they do not expect from you to know a lot, but I love to learn always new stuff.

If I have time I will make that app reaponsive and maybe I will check why works slow.