DEV Community

N.H
N.H

Posted on

I Need help as a beginner.

I am have just began my journey as a CS student. I am looking for advice. How to proceed or what type of things should I learn or do? I hope someone could give me some advice. 🙂

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

I really struggle to learn for the sake of it. Find a problem you want to solve and learn how to do it in whatever tech stack you feel most comfortable in, then try to solve it again using a different tech stack.
Find something that has a incrementally trickier learning curve where you can build minimal functionality to start and then add complexity later
Suggestions.
Soduku solver in python or excel VBA
Wordle clone
Candy crush clone

At this stage in your career you will be learning to recognise patterns in problems and the logical steps to resolve them rather than concentrate on the syntax of a particular language

Sorting an array, filtering an array of objects by a key value, managing a matrix of data, making copies of an object, modifying it and saving the results to permanent storage, race conditions, stale object checking and many more problems are common across languages, business processes and tech stacks.learn how to think about the problem and you can almost always Google for the syntax in your preferred language.

Collapse
 
nhshanto profile image
N.H

Thanks man I appreciate it.

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo

You'll try solving test cases on codewars.com.

Collapse
 
nhshanto profile image
N.H

Thanks man I will try.

Collapse
 
dingdingdong profile image
The D

Start writing code almost immediately. Pick a small project that you find interesting. Start pushing to Github. Get your friends to review your code and review theirs.

Chill. You have just started.

Collapse
 
nhshanto profile image
N.H

Thanks I appreciate it.