DEV Community

Niaz-Ul-Haque
Niaz-Ul-Haque

Posted on

Done with Labs, Now last left. Exams week is here. Too Much, but it's ok.

Hello there everyone. Welcome back again to my blogpost on my Journey to a professional programmer. This week was super busy (well duh). Mainly due to the because of final exams and bombardment of assignments from all courses. But, managed to kick most (all) out of the park. Now it's only studies. Hope I can cover all the revision in 1 day. Fingers crossed. Anyways I want to update yall on my last Lab on open source development.

This lab was not your usual lab. Yep, its finally released. And yea, you can literally use it right now. I'll tell more about this later on in the blog post. But first, I wanted to tell how I ended up with a fully released package in npm (the real one, you can see my name there uhuhuhuhuhuhuhu). I know it is not a big deal for most, but for me it's a huge one. seeing my name up there is one of my achievements. haha, I know most people has there name on it, but I don't mind being one of them. I want to thank my professor David who taught us this course. I know I am not great of a student, was not always on time with my coursework, but thank you for cutting less marks and giving me feedback on everything. Learned tons this semester, specially with open source. So, thank you!

Ok, now lets talk about my release. As you guys know it is a CLI program that finds broken links for you. It can take anything like txt files, html, or even single links. It will give you a result. If its working and good, it will show up as green, and red ones for bad links. Implemented lots of thing in the program from testing to linting, lots of functionality, etc. Few random people from my course also contributed to my project. I thank them for giving some time to deal with my project. I also had few friends who helped me this semester. Want to thank them too!. Three of my friend come in my mind when I think about the word "friends". They are Tony, Devansh (Dev), and Paul. I know them since semester 1 and they are super pros compared to me. So, If I get stuck somewhere I always go for them help. I know I am suppose to go to my prof but my questions are usually 2iq questions, so don't want to take it to the prof haha and I keep the profs as my last case scenario (after more research). I want to make sure I researched everything, consulted my friends, and still don't get the answer, I go to the prof cause I know for sure ill get an answer. I'll be vey busy the following week cause of finals, but will still mass upload blog posts lol.

That's so far for now. But, keep your eyes on my blogpost cause I'll me mass uploading very very soon on my open source plans and stories. Till then thank you for reading this blog post and I hope you guys stay home and stay safe. I'll be linking my "npm" package below, please do check it out. Thank you!.

Oh and thank you again David, Tony, Dev, and Paul. You guys made programming a lot more fun and enjoyable!

Top comments (0)