DEV Community

Niaz-Ul-Haque
Niaz-Ul-Haque

Posted on

The End(3). End. Officially concluded. Sem done, hunting starts. 1 Final left.

Hello there again guys!. This is my 3 of 3 blogpost on the series "The End". I'll conclude what I did in this series and what I did so far regarding opensource. This is gonna be a big post, so be patient and ignore if there is any typos. I'll talk about what I learned and experienced this past 4 months. There will be a lots of thank you's at the start, but its important so please bear with it. Thank you!

First of want to start with a BIG thank you to David. He was there online for every student every day. He not only helped with programming related questions but also non programming questions. Learned lots, lots from him this semester. So, thank you for that. Then want to thank 3 people who helped me with surviving this semester. Tony, Dev, and Paul. These 3 individuals helped me not only this semester but since semester 1. Thanks to them I learned lots of things. Tony being a father, gave me lots of life/real-world advices and also gave me free tutor on any doubts/subjects I faced in Seneca. Doubts? Tony is here. Like a miracle, so Thank you!. Dev and Paul, we used to stay in Seneca till 1-2am. Early semester we used to hangout there and have fun, but when week 4 or 5 starts (Mid terms), we stop everything and start studying. Dev being the professional, and Paul being the 2nd professional, It felt like I will be able to answer any difficult questions lol. Thanks to their constant help and Tony's help, I managed to do well on my exams and tests so far with Seneca. There are few more people, but they are not in OSD so will thank them personally later. Now back to coursework.

"The End" series, If you read my part 2 of the series, you will get more information on my first 2 PR's. So, in this blogpost I'll go briefly on my first 2 PR's and focus on the third PR. The first 2 PR's was fun as I dealt with something I did not expect. It was like the titanic, thought it was small Ice berg, but did not se the whole picture. Due to that, learned a ton lot while solving the issue at hand. Thanks to the author of the repos to give me an opportunity to contribute to their project. The third PR was not that big of something. Wanted to do something simpler than the ones I did. SO, I took one of the simpler ones. It was adding global animations on buttons. Not just animations, anything to make it look better. At first, I thought it was just a simple cursor edit, but later through a review I was notified by the author that it should be more complex and more eye-catching. I am yet to recommit, paused for a day or two due to my final exams. I already talked to the author privately at his discord and he was ok with it. He told me to take my time and do it. So, all is fine. I'll get back to that asap. Links to my "The End" series and the repos will be given below.

That's the end of my "The End" series. Hope you guys enjoyed it haha. To conclude this blogpost, I want to thank the people mentioned above again for their help and support. Thank you!. Really enjoyed this course, semester in general a ton lot. I was planning on taking SD700 course but, I sadly have to take the next term off. If I don't, I will have some complications when applying for a post-grad work permit. So, during the break I planned lots of things. I wanted to start my break with self reflecting. Want to eat healthy and exercise daily. Look for a Full-time/Part-time work so I can get some pocket money which will help me later on. And of course, the most important part, mass apply for coop positions. I must get a coop before I graduate, So mass applying as soon as I a m done with this semester. I'll also try to contribute to more open source projects, so that way won't forget stuffs haha. I'll also give updates on what I am doing here, so keep an eye on that. Other than that, I am officially done with this semester (Nope, not yet. 1 Finals left, which is tomorrow). Till next time then. Thank you for keeping up with me this semester and thanks a lot for reading my posts. Thanks again to the above-mentioned people, and good luck. Stay safe and stay healthy!

LINKS -

My Github Profile
The End (1). The Start.
The End (2). The Mid.
PR 1
PR 2
PR 3

Top comments (0)