DEV Community

Niaz-Ul-Haque
Niaz-Ul-Haque

Posted on

First EVER PR. Job Hunting Starts. Hacktober is here.

Aha another week, another post. This week has been the busiest so far this semester. Well... I blame me for procastinating. Anywyas, I got to finish up everything I had for the week, so ended the week in a good note.

Last few days I was just going over different types of Release 0.1 to contribute to. I found few of them, but so far did some editing for 1. This was my first time doing a pull request. Honestly, felt like I was doing something, someone in an actual job would do. (I know its childish and easy, but it was my first time so I count this as a big step, doesnt matter how smll it was). I updated his code into more latest-ish, fixed readme commands, did some folder management, etc. I enjoyed a lot because it was the first time doing something with other people's code.

2 more great things happened this week. First, Job board opened. Been tailoring my resume and applying to places that I want to work for a while now. I really hope I get in one for winter 2021. I am positive this time as I have very strong skillsets on my resume this time. So, I am pretttttttty positive (please need a job).

The 2nd one is Hacktober. I am a sucker for any events and Hacktober is not an exception. This year I participated in 4 Hackathons all around Canada, so I am kinda experienced with events. Hacktober is not that different from the hackathons. Here, you go fix around bugs and issue pull requests for the whole month of October, collaborating with everyone in hacktober. In hackathons, you build stuff with a specific group. Take it as someone made a hackathon project, now it is online for us to fix it or make it better. Sounds fun right? yep, I am hyped too, and ready to see what October has for me.

Anyways you can find the repo I PRed for here - https://github.com/joelazwar/linkChek

Top comments (0)