DEV Community

Niaz-Ul-Haque
Niaz-Ul-Haque

Posted on

Well. Episode 0.1 done. 0.2 starts this week.

As you can see that this blog post is similar to the one I posted a few days ago. Worry not, this post is solely on how I came up with the "inside" idea for my latest CLI, nlinks.

First off, opensource. I really wanted to work anything related to opensource for a long time. But couldn't because I was lacking in programming skills. Now, I am very far ahead of what I was before. I now know how to interact with other developers, program web apps, work with databases, etc. I don't plan on stopping anytime soon though, so please bear with my daily blog posts as you guys will see it very often. Anyways back to the main part.

When I first got the documentation on what to make, my mind started to fill up with tons of ideas. I was very excited as it was my first ever open source project. I instantly started making notes on what to add and what programming language to use. I had many options to pick from, but I went with a language that's very common and powerful these days, JavaScript. The reason behind JavaScript was, it was the first-ever language I learned when I was in grade 8, and 16 years old. That's 5 years ago, and my love for JavaScript did not fade away, So a no brainer move from me there.

I went ahead with JavaScript and started my journey with this particular project which will greatly help me in learning more about JS and hone my skills on it. I started implementing lots of random libraries to make myself familiar and I found a very good library named 'Linkinator', this library helps you with check the broken link provided and give you a status code. I had to implement it in a way that it can read from all types of files. The program looks for a link in the file, doesn't matter if there are random characters before or after the link, it will just pick the link and print out the result. There were lots of options to implement on my release 0.1. I implemented a few of them, but the one I liked the most was different colors for different results. This cleared a lot of confusion with very few details.

Completing and uploading the release 0.1 to the world was exciting. I had a few people come over to my code and issue some problems. This helped me understand more about the specific part that was called out. I m really looking for to release 0.2 because we will be implementing lots of new pieces of stuff and do some work with pull requests. Oh, Hacktober is almost here, I am really looking forward to seeing what Hacktober has in the bags. I am fully prepared and ready to keep you guys updated every step.

Thank you and happy programming.

Top comments (0)