DEV Community

Cover image for Elevating my Ruby on Rails knowledge
Nikolaj Dyring Jensen
Nikolaj Dyring Jensen

Posted on

Elevating my Ruby on Rails knowledge

Introduction

Embarking on a journey to become a better programmer is an exciting endeavour. To help me hone my Ruby on Rails skills, I've curated a list of 12 projects, each designed to take approximately one month to complete. By dedicating time to one project each month, I'll not only deepen my understanding of Ruby on Rails but also build a strong portfolio showcasing my versatility as a developer.

Projects

  1. Blog Platform
  2. Task Manager
  3. E-Commerce Website
  4. Social Media Dashboard
  5. Job Board
  6. Event Calendar
  7. Forum or Discussion Board
  8. Authentication System
  9. API Integration
  10. File Upload Manager
  11. RSS Feed Aggregator
  12. Real Time Chat Application

Monthly Progress Updates

As I tackle each project, I'll consider documenting my journey in monthly blog posts. Sharing my challenges, triumphs, and the lessons learned. This not only provides a record of my progress but also contributes to the developer community. I'll be able to discuss the technologies I used, the design decisions I made, and any optimisations I implemented.

Conclusion

By committing to a new project each month, I'll not only enhance my Ruby on Rails skills, but also build a robust portfolio that showcases my growth as a developer. Remember, the key is to enjoy the learning process and celebrate victories, big or small.

Top comments (0)