DEV Community

Nirbhik
Nirbhik

Posted on

Learn react first or backend?

So I'm a bit new in webdev. I know JS and little bit of backend (Node and Express). I'm learning MongoDB now. But wherever I go, I see that they React is must. So this made me confused whether I should be full-stack first then learn React or learn React then go to backend. Someone help me please.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
nash4253 profile image
Vukani Gcabashe

I was working on react project with back end dev as my senior. i realized it helps alot to know what your over all goal, to be good with front or back end then when thats established, you can get dummy back end to work with n you focus on front first then back or the alternate way. but that my idea, i hope it helps

Collapse
 
nirbhik profile image
Nirbhik

I know a bit of backend too. I'll learn React and see if I like it. Else I'll be focused on backend. But I think I'll go for frontend rather than being a full stack.

Collapse
 
nirbhik profile image
Nirbhik

I'll learn React as it is more in demand. Better be front end with quite some experience than just full stack with no experience.

Collapse
 
spotnick profile image
spotnick

Depends on if you want to be a full stack developer or just front or back end. In my opinion it helps to understand both. If you are developing front end its not that bad to have a general understanding of how back ends are designed and are working in general and vice versa. But if you want to be a react developer I would recommend to use some open API like swapi or pokeapi and start to build some simple applications with it to understand the concepts of react. If you have a general understanding of how react works you can switch and write your own simple api, include your mongo db and use it in your application. At least that would be the way I would do it if I were to start over again.

Collapse
 
kennedyrose profile image
Kennedy Rose

It depends on what you want to do. But I'd say use what you know. Start working on a project, use the skills you already have, and learn what you need to along the way. So long as it's easy to maintain overtime, it's perfectly fine. However if you already know JS, React will be pretty simple to pick up. It can make some things easier, like web application UI. It just depends on what you're trying to do.

Collapse
 
omz profile image
Kurnia Muhamad

If you want to be a Frontend developer, just use react. You can use dummy data, headless CMS or Backend-as-a-Service as data source or to simplify the backend side.

If you want to be a Backend developer, then you need to learn node, ruby, golang or something else. Learning the backend requires more energy because the topic is wider than the frontend. roadmap.sh/backend

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

I have asked the exact question 2 years ago, hope you will find it helpful. dev.to/uzair004/help-me-decide-bet...

BTW I went to Backend, moving to frontend now

Collapse
 
emilienbilly profile image
Emilien

It depends on your preferences. If you want to be a Full Stack developer, you will have to learn both front and back end. What is your main goal as a developer ?