DEV Community

Nishant Mittal
Nishant Mittal

Posted on

How do you backup your data

Imagine you are done with your coding for today and discover tomorrow that your PC has stopped working.

This exact thing happened to me a few days back and luckily I was able to recover most of the important things as

  • I always push the code before turning off the PC.
  • My photos, videos are always in sync with the iCloud.
  • I upload my sublime snippets frequently to my GitHub account.
  • My Firefox bookmarks, history, addons are always in sync.

I didn't really feel the I lost my data when I switched to my new PC.

How do you guys backup your data? Or you don't (Just think if the same thing happened with you :P)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
andogq profile image
Tom Anderson

All my code is mirrored on GitHub. My photos are stored on Google Photos, and I use Google Docs for any documents and as a result, everything is stored on Google Drive. I'm signed in on Chromium, so any bookmarks and passwords all go across.

Collapse
 
nishantwrp profile image
Nishant Mittal

Nice!

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low

I use a small NAS device set up on my desk connecting to the LAN. Sharing to all the necessary devices, such as TV, laptop, and smartphones.