DEV Community

Nishchit
Nishchit

Posted on

Jest vs. Vitest: Which Test Framework Would You Choose for a New Project?

Hey Dev.to community!

I'm starting a new project under Firecamp, and I'm currently trying to decide on a test framework for my TypeScript code. I've narrowed down my choices to two popular options - Jest and Vitest. However, I'm having a hard time making the final decision, and I'd love to hear your insights and experiences.

If you were starting a project today, which test framework would you go with - Jest or Vitest? And more importantly, why would you choose one over the other?

Your insights will play a crucial role in helping me and others in the community make an informed choice when starting new projects.

Looking forward to hearing your opinions and experiences!

Thank you in advance for your valuable input.

Best regards,
Nishchit

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
tejasness profile image
Tejas Chaudhari

We're using vitest in nextjs in our startup because vitest is faster, and it's easy to configure vitest.