DEV Community

NIYODUSENGA Clement
NIYODUSENGA Clement

Posted on

New technology and non-verbal communication around the world

Today I’d like to share with you how I enjoyed this week’s soft skills topics and technical skills that I gained during this week. I’m super excited to write this journal because each day of this week has been really interesting!

Yeah! The week has been interesting because I was introduced to new technologies, NestJS and TypeScript. It was my first time working with these two technologies.

Let me explain a little bit about NestJS and TypeScript

As it’s written on NestJS’s website, NestJS is a Node.js framework for building efficient, reliable, and scalable server-side applications. I enjoyed working with this technology and within a short period of time, I hope to master it.

What is TypeScript?

TypeScript is a programming language developed and maintained by Microsoft. If you’re excited like the way I was to read more about this programming language which is a strict syntactical superset of JavaScript then kindly click this TypeScript link on Wikipedia.

During this week, I learned a lot of things in technical skills and soft skills. I built a todo app in NestJS as John Dewey's philosophy says that we should learn by doing.

Friday we do a virtual meeting with the Awesomity team to share with them what we learned during the week. For the first time it was not easy, I was nervous but the more we do mass communication the more I get to be confident, I hope it’s a good process to master public speaking.

I can not finish this journal without saying how much I enjoyed the session on “Non-verbal gestures around the world". It was an interactive session and we had a good time sharing what we learned from other cultures, especially gestures! Now I know that there are a lot of gestures that mean different things in different cultures.

Thank you for reading!

Top comments (0)