DEV Community

NOABLST
NOABLST

Posted on • Updated on

How do you perform API testing?

I've always been interested in learning how to use APIs and finally decided to take the plunge and learn how to use them.

When I started my journey in BLST security, I began experimenting with different APIs and trying to figure out how to use them.

Now, I feel like I have a good basic understanding of how APIs work and am able to use them to my advantage.

I'm excited to continue learning more about how to use APIs and expand my knowledge so that I can build even more amazing things, but before I move on further today, I want to talk about something I encountered rather quickly.

So... how do you perform API testing?

API testing is a type of software testing that focuses on the application programming interfaces (APIs) directly and indirectly to determine if they meet expectations for functionality, reliability, performance, and security.

In order to perform API testing, you will need to use a variety of tools and approaches. Some of the most popular tools for API testing include SoapUI, Postman, and curl.

To get started with API testing, you should first identify the specific APIs you would like to test. Once you have identified the APIs you would like to test, you can begin creating test cases. When creating test cases, it is important to consider the various types of testing you will need to perform, such as functional testing, load testing, and security testing.

Once you have created your test cases, you can then use a tool like SoapUI or Postman to execute the tests. These tools will allow you to send requests to the API and validate the responses.

Finally, you can use a tool like curl to verify the results of your tests. Curl is a command-line tool that can be used to make HTTP requests. By using curl, you can send requests to the API and view the responses directly from the command line.

In the next article I'll write about

Open source API Security testing tools

Until that please check BLST Security open source CLI tool - Cherrybomb which is a CLI tool that helps you avoid undefined user behavior by validating your API specifications.

Top comments (0)