DEV Community

Björn
Björn

Posted on

Is it to late...

Or am I on the right path finally?

My name is Björn and I come from Sweden and I am a newbie here. The question in the head is probably me second guessing my self.

[Background;
Image description]

😃
I am a man in my later 40s. The last 8 years I have been home on pension from the state, after a car accident where my wife and one daughter died.

During my whole life I have known that I didn't work as my peers, I couldn't cope with stuff as my friends.
During 30 years I tried to be 'normal' and act "the way I should", but it ended with me burning out 2 -6 times /year.

When I was 45 I finally got my answers, I have ADHD 🧠 and Autism🥴. Now, when I finally have accepted my self I feel that it is time to get back on the horse. Earlier I have studied ux and behaviour design, but during the last 6 months I have getting to understand that I love to code.

Now the question above...

I really wanna get in to tech and code writing, innovating, data science and research/analytics. AM I TO OLD?
,........!

Can you start over in tech, this late in life? And if so, is python and some c# a good road to start walking on.

I need to get in to the business and start making contacts, get inspired and keep pushing. So... give me your best tips, tricks and knowledge...

Thank you so much for reading 📚 all this text...

Best regards

Bjorn

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

It is never too late to start something fresh.

The tech world has many different paths you can start for example

  • Frontend developer
  • Backend developer
  • Full stack developer
  • Mobile app developer
  • Web designer
  • Data Analysts
  • DevOps

Before starting your journey, you can check and research to see which path excites you the most.

I would recommend taking baby steps and try not to get overwhelmed.
Once you finalize your path you can easily plan out the learning path as there are many resources available on the internet.

The key to being successful in this field is to be consistent.
I wish you the best of luck.

Happy Coding!

Collapse
 
npfmentor profile image
Björn

Thank you so much for your advices... I am on the python journey right now, but I keep finding stuff that really excites me 🫣

Collapse
 
manthanbhatt profile image
Manthan Bhatt

Than my friend you are on the road to success 😁

Collapse
 
dimitrim profile image
Dimitri Mostrey

If you figured out you ❤ to code, then you must follow that path. Doing what you love is the highest achievement in life, especially if you manage to get results in whatever shape or form. It doesn't have to be financial. That's a byproduct.

In my half a century of life experience I learned not only some computer languages, also spoken languages. Dutch, French, Spanish, English and German in my case. It is remarkable how many similarities there are between spoken and programming languages. I found a colorful allegory that encompasses both scenarios. In a non-religious, universal way.

Think of it like every language is represented by a god. That particular god created the language and evolves in it and with it. Languages are a living entity. New words/functionalities get added, older ones become obsolete.

The more energy (time) you spend on the world of that god, the more you get to see into their world. And then suddenly, one day, like magic, you finally get it. You earned your ticket to the inside. You start to think in that language, or read and understand the code others have written. And of course, start to write your own code in a faster and faster pace. Practice makes the master!

You may find that your 'defects' are actually a strength. Especially in coding. I know, trust me. I have my own set of lifetime anxieties. Found peace with the years of wisdom.

Learning a new language is at first overwhelming. Of course. I'd like to learn Russian. But honestly, I don't know where to start. Because I haven't started learning even the basics. The same is true for any computer language.

Learn. Fall. Stand up. Try again. And eventually you will earn your ticket to the inside! As @manthanbhatt correctly says: baby-steps.

Lycka till!!
Dimitri

Collapse
 
neilb_92 profile image
Neil B

Getting started after 40 is normal in the US. There are a lot of post-military people who do it as a second career. And Python is a good choice for entering the field.