DEV Community

Cover image for What is your top productivity apps that you cannot live without?
Olivier Chauvin
Olivier Chauvin

Posted on

What is your top productivity apps that you cannot live without?

I'm an engineer who is very keen to find different things to try out on daily basis.

I love big brands, like Google, Asana (if you don't know, it is one of the most well-known project management software), Slack, etc. But I also love to try out new apps.

So here's the list of the best productivity apps that help me overcome my overloading task list.

1. Buffer

If you are very active on social media, you must download Buffer to help you manage all of the content for your social media accounts. You can share content and stay connected with all of the social media apps using one app only.

2. Quire

I like Quire because they're a very young team and they're super open to constructive ideas. They're a project management software, quite new to the market, at least they're not as mature as Asana or Trello. But for a small team like mine, Quire has enough features to offer.

I like their clean interface and the way their task list behaves just like how my mind works. Beside Quire, my team also uses Notion for dashboard view.

3. CamSanner

I cannot highlight enough how I like this cool app. If you're an engineer, you know about the OCR technology. CamScanner lets you use your phone to scan documents, and turn the scanned documents into searchable PDF. COOL right?

Our team uses this app EVERYDAY!

Bonus

4. MindMeister

My team deals with a lot of brainstorming and ideas gathering. MindMeister is such a powerful online mind mapping tool that allows team to visualize the ideas and share with each other in real-time.

They're NOT new. But we love them so we just want to include them into this list :)

How about you? Tell me more about which software you think is the best productivity apps?

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
kennethlarsen profile image
Kenneth Larsen

Be aware with using CamScanner: thehackernews.com/2019/08/android-...

Collapse
 
__shadz_ profile image
Chardenal Matthieu
Collapse
 
rubyrubenstahl profile image
Ruby Rubenstahl

Just read about this this morning... I've been using it for years. I'm sad to have to get rid of it.

Collapse
 
ernestinelyons profile image
Ernestine Lyons

Thanks for your helpful information, CamScanner is the app I downloaded from TechBigs, it's a reputable and secure website you can see more here techbigs.com/camscanner.html

Collapse
 
bright07 profile image
Bright Joseph

I use CamScanner most times, i don't understand why we should be aware of it. enttechub.com/2020/02/camscanner-m...

Thread Thread
 
robertlan0122 profile image
robertlan0122

You can check out techlarapoint.com/bombitup-apk/ as well to play pranks on your friends and family.

Collapse
 
dafin profile image
darrie • Edited

Wow, thank you for sharing this list!
Our team uses Notion and Quire as well.
Notion makes organizing notes super easy and has a large selection of templates to choose from.
Quire makes team collaboration a lot easier and it has an infinite task list, our team is able to create tasks and add subtasks. We can then drag and drop tasks around to different groups within the same project, which makes brainstorming and planning super easy.
Other than the products mentioned in this list, our team also uses Trello. It's very easy to keep everyone up to date on new developments and projects. Overall, these products help me and my team put our tasks and project assignments together.  

Collapse
 
olivier32621338 profile image
Olivier Chauvin

I absolutely agree with you.

The reason why we don't think Notion is enough because they're not cut for team collaboration.

If they can enhance their collaboration features, I have no doubt Notion will be an ultimate tool for any businesses.

Right now we're using Quire and we LOVE this tool so much. I like how they always listen to users' feedback and they're really open to every idea. Their team seems to be very determined to make Quire the best project management software.

Collapse
 
nqaze profile image
Nabil Kazi

We are currently using Clickup for project & task management. I however liked the simplicity of Quire. You said we can group tasks into groups in a single project. I was not able to find this feature. Can you point me in the right direction here? They currently have feature of adding multiple boards but no multi list yet.

Collapse
 
vicky209 profile image
vicky209

I LOVE Notion! They're an absolute gorgeous app! I cannot highlight enough how much I love Notion UI.

But my team found Notion a bit difficult to use for team collaboration. That's why we switched from Notion to Quire!

Collapse
 
murkrage profile image
Mike Ekkel

Mindmeister is a great recommendation, thanks! As for an app I've started using recently: Notion. How easy it is to get up and running and let your 'dashboard' sort of shape itself overtime is absolutely amazing. I'd been juggling a ton of note taking / task tracking apps until I started using Notion. Now everything just sits in there in an interface that I'm most comfortable with!

Collapse
 
gksander profile image
Grant Sander

I second this. I love that it can handle scheduling, great note-taking, task management, and collaboration - all from one easy-to-use app.

Collapse
 
cwhyter profile image
claire.whyter

I'm curious, why did you stop using Asana?

I mean, it's quite rare that someone would change their project management software and migrate to another solution.

Collapse
 
olivier32621338 profile image
Olivier Chauvin

I think Asana is great - no doubt. But they're a mature tool already and I'm more interested in other tools in the market.

Also, for a small team like mine, Asana can be quite expensive. Tbh, what we found in Quire is just as good as what Asana has to offer.

But for medium to large enterprises, I think Asana is still the top notch option.

Collapse
 
cwhyter profile image
claire.whyter

Gotcha! I'm just curious since people will stick with one tool and be loyal without making any changes.

But I agree with you, Asana is more suitable for enterprises than for a small team!

I will definitely try Quire as well!

Collapse
 
mitchartemis profile image
Mitch Stanley
  • Things 3 for task management.
  • MailMate for email - I've tried loads of email clients and this one is as close to perfect as it gets for me.
  • Gifox for recording gifs - love the interface.
  • TimeWarrior for logging time - I spend a lot of time in the command line so it's great to stay in it as much as possible.
  • Inkdrop for documentation and general writing - it's a great app with extension support and can sync between multiple machines.

And just a shameless plug, my own app, Snipline, for managing command line snippets 😀

Collapse
 
cctechwiz profile image
Josh Maxwell

Ah! Snipline is the tool I never new I needed until now! Thanks! 👍👍👍

Collapse
 
mitchartemis profile image
Mitch Stanley

No problem! 😀

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

I went through so many but now I’m actually using paper, my own version of a bullet journal. With an app, you get what it gives. With a journal, you can modify it as you like. I make monthly layouts for organizing my time and goals, and then every day I use it as a task list and tracker. Every month the layout is different, slowly optimizing to my lifestyle, and changing with how I change.

And there’s just something so refreshing about allowing yourself to step away from the computer and onto paper, the soft texture and pale yellow, the dots, and writing with a pen, being able to draw something or write something just because you feel like it. It’s the best system I’ve found.

Collapse
 
mustapha profile image
Mustapha Aouas • Edited
  1. bundlephobia - check package sizes

  2. undraw & blendful - for making illustations on the fly

  3. coolors - build color plettes

  4. bear - for taking notes, writing documentation and articles

Collapse
 
dafin profile image
darrie

bear is a great app.

Collapse
 
vyckes profile image
Kevin Pennekamp

For sure Todoist. Making sure I dont forget anything that I need to do. I have enough Kanban/scrums boards for more detailed technical stuff I need to do. But there is so much around that, professionally and personally.

Collapse
 
vanessamhoward1 profile image
Vanessa M. Howard

Thank you very much for introducing me with these cool apps.

Quire indeed is a great project management software. I think it's better than Asana in terms of task list view.

Buffer is a tad expensive for a small team, but it works wonder for a content creator like me.

Thank you very much.

Collapse
 
lucashogie profile image
Lucas H.

Just wanted to add something about Buffer. Buffer is expensive. Right now there's an amazing alternative on Appsumo for Socialbee which basically has the same features as Buffer but at $50 for lifetime. Pretty amazing.

I personally also like to use Focuster which automatically schedules my day! :)

Collapse
 
johannesjo profile image
Johannes Millan

Super Productivity is my favorite tool. It's a personal task management tool/ time tracker with Jira integration. I've to admit though, that part of the reason is that I wrote it myself ;)

Just wrote a little article about it, too.

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

For what it's worth... CamScanner uses might need to consider an alternative according to this article

Collapse
 
codenamev profile image
Valentino Stoll

As a fellow engineer, I'm partial to apps that save me time coding, but here are my top 5:

  1. BitBar – Easily program apps for your Mac OS X menu bar
  2. GitReflow – Automate pieces of my git workflow.
  3. Dash – Centralized documentation reference
  4. Clockwise – an intelligent calendar assistant that frees up your time.
  5. Kite – If you do any Python, this is an amazing ML code-completion plugin
Collapse
 
erindaviss profile image
erin-daviss

Zoom: I like the video conferencing feature for groups, with different screen possibilities.
Basecamp: a platform for collaboration and project management for marketing agencies or any other company which has a team of 10+ members.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.