DEV Community

brunobraga
brunobraga

Posted on

How did you improve your communication skills?

Hi there, its Bruno.

We all know how important it is to be able to communicate clearly and directly. This in fact goes to any field, not only software development.

I have seen several times now the situation where the well respected/higher in the ladder was the person who was clearly a good communication, as opposed to the one who had a very good technical knowledge and even worked more hours.

I would like to hear from you what are the steps you have taken to improve on it? Books? courses? training?

am I the only one who thinks half of the arguments are won by the person who speaks with the most confidence?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
lvtdeveloper profile image
Lesly Villalobos

Hi Bruno! In my case, I started participating in debates (on any topic of my interest) first with people with whom I had more confidence and then I started debating with strangers through different forums, which helped me to have more confidence and to be more eloquent.
I recommend you to think before you speak, I know it sounds obvious but many times words come out of your mouth without even having the idea well thought in your head, so try to speak slowly but fluently :)

Collapse
 
onurbraga profile image
brunobraga

thanks Lesly, I appreciate your comment and it definitely makes loads of sense

Collapse
 
seowyanyi profile image
Seow Yan Yi • Edited

Hey Bruno!

I struggled a lot with being confident and communicating well many years ago.

Some things which helped are taking small steps to speak up, and making it fun for myself. Not seeing communication as a chore but something that is enjoyable was a key mindset shift.

Through the process, I realised I wasn't just interested in technology, but how things work - including people!

Recently I started a blog (evolvingengineers.com/) to share more about my experiences - to inspire others that are going through the same journey!