DEV Community

Arne
Arne

Posted on

In only 2 1/2 days to Docker expert: books, videos and tutorial recommendations

As you have already noticed, I work in a shop which is using Docker the whole day…

Especially for new colleagues or not quite “docker insiders”, often comes the desire in me to show them a page or whatever to point them to the most important resources about Docker for rookies.

Certainly lists with links are out there a lot, but unfortunately those are kind of: We collect everything which has to do something with Docker.
In the end I am however the opinion that one should rather check a few good articles, videos or books, and study them in detail!

Later if you want to go further, or if you want to look like the Docker Super-Hero, you know where to get more stuff to read!

Basics – What is docker and what is not

Training

If you now have an approximate plan of what it's all about, you might want to get a little deeper into the matter. This is how I feel when a topic really interests me. Here you can also find 1000+ tutorials, books, videos, courses with which you could deal .. but who wants to do it all? So we restrict ourselves to a link for each category!

Newsletter

If you now understand what it is, one should also stay up to date. So here is my newsletter recommendation.

  • Docker Weekly: In fact, the only one I read regularly. Why? Well news directly from the makers and a comprehensive list of links with new tutorials and articles (the Captain Corner)

Ask something …

When reading and trying out, you will surely encounter problems and questions, but where should they be placed?

Thats all, again sorry for my poor english .. i will try to work on it!

ok One more thing!

I would love to set up my own newsletter, around the topics of DevOps.
Maybe you are so fond of supporting me and just register?
You will get some fresh links and news every 2 Weeks (if we get enough nice people).

Let's call the Newsletter “DevOps Newsletter which has NoName!”

SIGN UP! FOR THE NEWSLETTER

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
bobbytables profile image
Robert Ross

Thanks for linking to my Practical Guide for Docker tutorial! I'm glad you found it useful.