DEV Community

mike
mike

Posted on

As a beginner, in what order should I learn these languages?

Hi! I'm new to coding(started about a month ago) and I've been doing Udemy courses on front end and full stack, I've already learned the html, CSS and the essentials of Javascript. I'm currently doing the ''Web Dev Bootcamp'' which is gonna teach me Express, node JS, Mongo, etc..

I am unsure what courses to buy next, I've wishlisted a full Angular course and a full React course, which one do you recommend I do first after i've finished the web dev bootcamp?

Thanks!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
mikenikles profile image
Mike

My advice: Stop reading, start building. Every line of code you write teaches you a lot more than ten pages you read in a book.

If you have a project idea, go for it and start drawing the UI on a piece of paper, then write code.
If you don't have an idea, develop a to-do app. First, let users add items and remove items. Then persist the to-do list in the browser (e.g. local storage), then figure out how to persist the to-do list in a database, then think about adding user accounts, then syncing the to-do list across devices, then collaboration with other people. That'll keep you busy for a while and you'll learn a lot more than reading more books.

By the way, there's a lot more to developing that app. Think about tests, CI/CD, etc as you go along.

Don't get overwhelmed by all that, there's no rush to learn about all that in your first week :-). It's mainly a list of tasks to work through over the next year or two.

Learning to develop software takes time. I've been doing it for 20 years and continue to learn every day.

Collapse
 
sjellen profile image
SJellen

I wouldn’t buy anything else right now. I would spend the next 3 months building things.

Collapse
 
orionfalls profile image
mike

Yeah maybe you're right, I might be getting ahead of myself haha

Collapse
 
leigh864 profile image
leigh864

Take a look at theodinproject.com