DEV Community

Oscar Ablinger
Oscar Ablinger

Posted on

What are some good email providers?

So, I've got my own domain now. Does anyone have a recommendation for some email providers that give me that sweet …@oscarablinger.com email address?

A catch-all email would be pretty important to me – other than that only maybe that I can export my emails easily so I don't loose stuff when I'm not happy with it.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

I personally own 3 domains. & have email on all of them.

Simple Option: Zoho Mail

Another option: Use improvmx to forward all emails to your gmail, & use a service like sendinblue/sendpulsemailjet & use their smtp server & connect it in your gmail accounts section.
This will allow you to receive as well as send emails from another domain right through your gmail.

Collapse
 
oscarablinger profile image
Oscar Ablinger • Edited

Thank you, both of them look really nice.
Improvmx is an interesting and cheap (aka free) route. I dislike that it requires me to set up each email separately however.
I'd much rather be able to just use devto@oscarablinger.dev just like how you can use it with gmail and outlook (e.g. mynormalmail+devto@gmail.com).
I can't believe I actually missed that you can do it… I should test whether I can send emails using that domain too with my mail client.

Zoho seems really cheap and trustworthy. I couldn't find whether it supports catch-alls though. Would you know whether it does?

In any ways, thanks for your help :)

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana • Edited

No, zoho doesn't support catch all.

And regarding the second option, I think either you didn't understand it correctly or I'm not able to understand what you said. Lemme try to explain again.

you can use improvmx to catch all and send it to your gmail.
and you the smtp server to send emails (from custom domain) right from inside your gmail. You can select your email every time while sending a email

In short you can send & receive emails on your domain right inside your personal gmail for completely free (limited to approx 200 emails per day for sending)

I personally prefer this.

Thread Thread
 
oscarablinger profile image
Oscar Ablinger

Yes, sorry, I mistook improvmx for a simple single email alias service. I missed the catch-all option the first time looking through it.
I gave it a second look and it indeed looks pretty promising. Thanks again

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Just go simple and get Microsoft Exchange.

Deliverability is industry leading, it is easy to set up, it is reasonably cheap, catchalls are easy to set up and you can have as many aliases (inbound addresses) as you want.

I know we are in the "everything should be free" world, but email is not something to mess around with for anything that is remotely important.

If you want free go gmail...but I do find I have way more headaches with things like contact forms etc. when using gmail, but that just might be me.

Collapse
 
kinduff profile image
Alejandro AR • Edited

There are a lot of options but it really depends if you want to be able to respond with the same domain.

If you just want to receive emails, I've setup a service called ImprovMX to automatically forward emails to my main email address.

In the other hand, if you want to go fully featured, I really recommend to pay for it. There are free services out there, but you want to ensure security, privacy, and flexibility. A service like Protonmail allows you to bring your own domain for a price. Worth every penny.

Collapse
 
oscarablinger profile image
Oscar Ablinger

but it really depends if you want to be able to respond with the same domain.

Yes I'd need that. I want to use it as my primary email for buisness-related things, so answering from a different email would be a bit weird ^^
But can you not change your sending email regardless? I thought that was simply a string that is sent with the email?

I'm also fine with paying for it. I did look at protonmail before (and have a free one), but it's comparatively expensive and only offers 5 aliases (on the plus plan – any more would be wasted for me) and no catch-all afaik.

ImprovMX looks like a pretty cool service tbh. I don't think it fits me here, but cool to know that it exists.

So thanks for your comment :)

Collapse
 
lanesawyer profile image
Lane Sawyer

Fastmail is a great service that I've been with for the last couple years. Works great and is only about $5 a month.

If you're concerned about privacy, Proton Mail is a great option too. I would've gone with them originally but the didn't have calendar functionality at the time. Now they do, in addition to some Google Drive type storage.

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

& if you are ok with paying for it, then google workspace is very good.

Collapse
 
thomashighbaugh profile image
Thomas Leon Highbaugh

Because I am old and thus use thunderbird for email, it's easy to set domain specific email, which I use Namecheap's default for to be honest, to sync with that and it's good to go but I still always default back to using my Zoho account for the Android app that allows me to keep my unread messages as a widget on my home screen. Those little things make all the difference.