DEV Community

Cover image for What do you think of Software Architecture? Is it relevant for junior devs?
otavio99
otavio99

Posted on • Updated on

What do you think of Software Architecture? Is it relevant for junior devs?

Hey there, so I transitioned from dev to a software architect position (about a year ago) and since then I've been noticing that whenever I code nowadays, I don't struggle as much as I used to. It became fairly easy for me to find suitable solutions for problems while coding (my stackoverflow skills improved too lol).

But the point of this discussion is that, recently, some people I know (junior devs basically) have been asking me for tips for advancing in their careers. I've recommended they to pay some time studying basic software architecture, also system analysis and QA. Like, I find myself talking more about the whole process before and after the coding itself happens. I feel like they will be able to bring more value as a professional to their team. Now I am wondering, is it a good tip? Is software architecture (and the other stuff I mentioned) something that could be useful in a practical way for junior devs (even for new people starting)?

Top comments (0)