DEV Community

Cover image for Should we teach programming in humanities?
Ozookevin
Ozookevin

Posted on • Updated on

Should we teach programming in humanities?

I come from a Humanities background. I received 3 degrees in communication studies. Some even like to call communication studies the super humanities. I love everything about communication studies, I love that it is so open for me to research almost anything... that being said, one of the biggest problems with this degree is that no one outside the major really understands what we do. Communication studies is a research-driven field. We take in information from around the world and break it down into bit size snips of information. We use data to tell a story.

I decided to write this post because I've always wondered why humanities don't offer a basic programming or computer logic class. As I was receiving my communication degree, I tried to learn python programming. I did this because I knew this skill would help me conduct research in the future. Understanding that the future will bring us into a world that views programming as essential as reading and writing, why is it that humanity colleges falling to get their students ready for a world of research that is depended on basic programming skills?

Top comments (1)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments. Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more