DEV Community

Cover image for Writing a Nes Game Day 1
Draculinio
Draculinio

Posted on

Writing a Nes Game Day 1

Hello everyone! It is me, Dracu, starting my journey to create a NES game and document it, so I will use this and some recordings that I am doing as a diary for this journey

First, a little background: Back in the beggining of the 90's, a young Dracu was starting his teenager years. I bought my first computer with bar-mitzvah money (a 286) where I discovered a new world that I would never quit. At the same time my sister came back from USA with a gift for me: a Nintendo Entertainment System. Once I put the Super Mario Bross cartridge I never stopped. I LOVED this, I spent hours and hours playing Mario, Mario 2, Mario 3, The Addams Family and so much more...
time passed and I began to feel nostalgic. Yes, I have a Playstation 5 and soon a Nintendo Switch but... I loved those 8 bit games, without a large tutorial, hard to play, hard to win, those were the times when only the brave ones were good players.

My passion is coding. I LOVE coding (Python is love, love is Python), so if I love old 8 bit games and my fingers can code, why don't make a game?

Why doing a NES game in 2023

Why doing a game? Well, there are some reasons:

  1. I can't learn if I don't do. I need to create and code to understand and learn.
  2. Nostalgia.
  3. Be a better developer
  4. Be part of all those mid age people with white hair that loves doing old machines and code for vintage processors (like the 6502). I mean, who does not love 8-bit guy? I am 45 so I think is time to join that club.
  5. After all this process I feel I will become some sort of Rambo of development.

What kind of game will I do?

The idea is to create a platform game, maybe a "Metroidvania" game. I thought about an RPG and still think that it is a good idea (and maybe in the future I will do it), but I want to learn and understand not only how to code but also all about game mechanics. I will add a story to the game but I want to make something that everyone enjoys playing.

So, let's start this adventure!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sreno77 profile image
Scott Reno

Good luck! I look forward to seeing your progress.