DEV Community

Cover image for The hurry to learn and the self-learning process
Pachi 🥑
Pachi 🥑

Posted on • Updated on

The hurry to learn and the self-learning process

I started learning to code not long ago, at sometime in October last year. That means that I have been studying for 8 months.
Now, I must confess that I often feel hopeless.
My dream to become a developer and start working in the area feels far away and just a dream.
At the moment, I know my way around HTML and CSS pretty well and I am in the very first steps of real programming with JavaScript.
Nothing as cool as all the code I see in my favorite TV show lol (Mr. Robot <3)
But also, a college student usually takes 4 years to graduate... 4 years!
Why in the 7 kingdoms would I believe to be ready for the market in 8 months of self-study?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
bluezack profile image
Zakaria Elazrak

even college student are not ready to get into the market after 4 years of studies, college give u some teoritical knoweldge that most suitable for research, u still need to learn a lot and gain experience to get into the market

so just keep learning, u will get there one day

Collapse
 
usaidpeerzada profile image
Usaid

how much time did it take you to learn javascript and get good at it ?

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

JavaScript is a lot ! So I keep learning 😅 I am not good at it yet, but o keep practicing!!!