DEV Community

Cover image for The Nuffshell Coding Diary
Patrick Hund
Patrick Hund

Posted on • Updated on

The Nuffshell Coding Diary

I'm building a social network and collaboration tool based on mind maps, documenting my work in this series of blog posts. Follow me if you're interested in what I've learned along the way about building web apps with React, Tailwind CSS, Firebase, Apollo/GraphQL, three.js and TypeScript.

Part I: Drawing a Mind Map with Three.js and React

Cover image of part I

TL;DR: I've figured out how to render React components onto a 3D model.

Part II: Drawing a Mind Map with Three.js and React, for Real This Time

Cover image of part II

TL;DR: I've managed to arrange the child nodes around my mind map root in a circle.

Part III: Still Trying to Draw a Mind Map with Three.js and React

Cover image of part III

TL;DR: I struggled with adding the next level of mind map child nodes.

Part IV: Drawing a Mind Map with Force Directed Graphs

Cover image of part IV

TL;DR: I threw away most of my former attempts and decided to use a library to render my mind map instead.

Part V: How to Fix Blurry Text on HTML Canvases on Mobile Phones

Cover image of part V

TL;DR: I found a way to make sure my mind map looks good on screens with high pixel per inch ratio.

Part VI: Resizing a Three.js Scene When the Browser Window Size Changes

TL;DR: I managed to re-render my mind map when the viewport gets resized.

Part VII: Adding Trackball Controls to a Three.js Scene with Sprites

Cover image of part VII

TL;DR: You can now zoom, pan and rotate the 3D model of my mind map.

Part VIII: Local State Management with Apollo Client

Cover image of part VIII

TL;DR: I added a button to pause animations, using local state management provided by the Apollo Client library.

Part IX: TypeScript All the Things!

Cover image of part IX

TL;DR: I converted my project to TypeScript.

Part X: Adding a Click Handler to a Three.js Model

Cover image of part X

TL;DR: I managed to log a statement to the browser console when a mind map node is clicked.

Part XI: Writing a TypeScript Type Definition for a JavaScript npm Package

TL;DR: I fought TypeScript and I won (sort of).

Part XII: Animating Camera Movement in Three.js

Cover image of part XII

TL;DR: I added a smooth animation to the camera as it focuses on a 3D object when it is clicked.

Top comments (0)