DEV Community

Panda Quests
Panda Quests

Posted on

Do you invest in any stocks?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
vinaypai profile image
Vinay Pai • Edited

Yes, for about 15 years now, with gradually increasing level of sophistication over the years. I don't trade very often---I average maybe 1 trade a month or so. My basic rule is to only invest in companies for the long term, i.e. willing to hold on to things for 5+ years. I only invest in companies I really understand, which translates to a pretty tech-heavy portfolio for me. An I usually spend a good amount of time digging through financial statements and other info before taking the plunge.

I usually ignore things like technical analysis of charts and movement patterns and focus on the underlying business and my personal belief of how that's going to go in the long term.

Researching companies is time-consuming and requires a good amount of financial knowledge and understanding. I kind of enjoy doing that sort of thing, so I'm willing to spend the time on it as a sort of a hobby. I would advise anyone who doesn't have the time or inclination to do that to stay away from individual stocks and invest in ETFs or index funds.

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Can you recommend some good stocks?

Collapse
 
vinaypai profile image
Vinay Pai

Right now? I don't know what the situation in Germany is but the stock markets in the US seem totally detached from reality. Things are near all-time high even as the pandemic rages uncontrolled in the US, and the GDP is in recession. Right now I'm mostly trying to be cautious and hedge against a coming crash.

I'm not really looking to open any new positions right now but that might change if I see a company collapse in value for reasons that don't seem justified to me.

Thread Thread
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Can you provide stock names?