DEV Community

Cover image for Everything I learned at the first job I had as a developer
Pasca Vlad
Pasca Vlad

Posted on • Originally published at blog.vlddev.live

Everything I learned at the first job I had as a developer

If you found value in this thread you will most likely enjoy my tweets too so make sure you follow me on Twitter for more information about web development and how to improve as a developer. This article was first published on my Blog

If you didn't new already, last summer I had a job as a web developer for 3 months

It was at a local startup

You can read more about how I got it from here

https://blog.vlddev.live/how-i-got-a-job-as-a-developer-at-16-1?guid=0cd9e036-aad5-4209-998b-38df8f57fcf4&deviceId=8e582af3-dbdf-4370-918b-080f344a9692

Now let's continue with what I learned

1. Communication is key

In the beginning, I was afraid to ask questions and that was a huge mistake

Why?

Because I spent one day on a problem I could solve in 4 hours

Once I started asking more questions I become more productive

And people love to see that you ask questions

2. Learning Git is a must

I never really understood how important Git is until I worked at this job

In those 3 months, I worked with Git every single day

So please take the time to learn

It will save you a lot of time and struggle in the future

3. You need to test your code

I had no idea what testing was but after one week I realized how important it is

It saves you a lot of time of finding bugs and all that

It's simply not worth it to push code without testing it

4. Everyone has Impostor Syndrome

When I joined this startup my impostor syndrome was huge

I felt like a loser but I realized that I'm not the only dev that feels that

One dev I worked with made me understand that this is normal and I shouldn't worry about it

5. Reading the docs is a life hack

One day I had to work with a new technology I never worked with before

I didn't read the docs and just jumped into writing code

Huge mistake

I wasted a lot of time that could be saved by reading the docs for one hour

The end

I hope found this useful and if you did please let me know. If you have any question feel free to DM me on Twitter .

Top comments (0)